The Ray Bergman Collection by Don Bastian

I am very pleased to announce the start of a huge project that I feel very fortunate to be part of. I must say I am also humbled by the continuation of my involvement with this subject.

The Online section of Hatches Magazine has just begun placement of the entire collection of the wet flies from Ray Bergman’s books. There is a link on this site page to the right of your screen, under Hatches Magazine, that opens this web-page. This collection begins with a feature article that I researched and wrote as an introduction, and the fly patterns beginning with the wet flies on Plate No. 1 in Trout, are posted with links to view the photos, recipes, and related information. Another nice feature is that all the fly patterns will be numbered in addition to any alphabetical corrections.

This project began on September 13, 2010, with the first ten patterns. Each week or so another ten wet flies will be added to expand this collection. The completed posting of the entire collection of flies and recipes will take approximately one year.

Each fly was tied and photographed by me and is shown with its tying recipe, plus there are scattered revisions, and in some cases, rather detailed fly tying notes and comments throughout. When finished this collection will contain 483 wet flies, all selected from Ray Bergman’s three books: Just Fishing (1932), Trout (1938, 1952, 1978, 2000), and With Fly, Plug, and Bait (1947).

For more information click the link and read the introductory article. Thank you for your visitation to my site!

Leave a comment